it’s a new day

Late last night I went and spent some time with my brother, Nick, who is in the hospital. Fuck it was nice to be close to my AA brother. We talked, laughed, cried and most importantly….we were who we are together. He is having a hard time. He might lose his foot.

We talked about the harsh reality of being a sober drunk and the world we live in and what it is like to see it sober when shit happens in life that would have been a normal reaction to drink about before sobriety.

I now realize what it means to say “if” when speaking of meeting an AA birthday. For a drunk, the drink could come anytime. The only protection is God….Spirituality in the steps.

God, please help me with my new job!

Thank you for keeping me sober yesterday; please help me stay sober today!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

