Caregiver vs. CNA

I have been thinking of all of the things I need to do before I get to college. I have even made a list of things before I even start class. What I need to do is go over the list and number everything on it from one on, one being the first thing to do.

I have not written in a while. I sleep a lot. I work nights and at times 11 to 14-hour-shifts. Like tonight, a 14-hour-shift. It has been rough on my back. If I am not sitting on a metal chair I am lifting elderly people in and out of bed or their wheel chairs or bending over to change their diapers. I do love my job. I have a great opportunity to help people and get paid doing so.

I have an opportunity to apply for a CNA program here at this retirement community I work at but I have decided not to go through with it.

I see what the CNA’s have to do: lift, lift, lift. As far as I can tell they only make a dollar and a quarter than I would for a while. On top of that, I don’t want to spend my time in school for it when I know I don’t want to be in the health field. I knew that since I was a kid. I am not called to be in the health field , at least that is how I feel right now and like I said I have always felt. For a semester I went to EMT school but dropped out half-way through. The physical limitations were not there then. I love being a caregiver and I am ok with it for right now.

I have asked some friends and family members to pray for me, that God will lead me down the path he wants me down for school and my job. I do still feel graphic design is the way for me to go but I am not in school yet so I truly don’t know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

