Honestly Dad

Honestly It hurt to pull up to the damn cemetary yesterday…

Honestly I should have had more time with you…

Honestly I was so angry at you but I ALWAYS loved you…

Honestly I thought you were on the track to getting better…

Honestly I believe you wanted to get off the pain meds.

Honestly I wish I would have gotten up to hug you goodbye the morning I last saw you…

Honestly I hope you like my boyfriend…

Honestly I wish you were in the car with me…

Honestly I need to stop the habit that played a role in your death, smoking.

Honestly I am not angry about anything that happened concerning my relationship with you.

Honestly you annoyed me at times but I ALWAYS loved you…

Honestly I wish we would have done a craft show together…

Honestly I feel a hole in my heart Daddy…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Honestly Dad

  1. I wish I could have said many of these things to my dad. I’m sorry for the loss of your dad and the hole in your heart.

  2. beautiful blog, i hope it provides you the outlet you need to get through this difficult time. you seem like you’re a strong person. i’m so sorry for your loss.

  3. I am sorry about the loss of your dad. 30 yrs later and I still wish I said some of those things after my dad died. My dad was the alcoholic, I loved him so much. It took me years to realize what he was, and that I am an adult child of an alcoholic. I too am finding that writing is a good outlet to communicate with my dad. Blessings – Patty

    • THANK YOU PATTY! Thank must have been hard growing up with an alcoholic but given your love for him he must have been a good man! Thank you for your support and understanding 🙂

  4. Jenna Blue says:

    Writing is good for healing. Keep it up and be well.

  5. Eventually we each lose our dad. Some, at birth, even. I had mine for my whole life, until he died at 72. Still I wanted more. Never enough. We are never satisfied. Wish he could have lived to see how great his grandkids turned out. He would have been pleased. But he would be about 103 by now, and . . . ah well, best to let him rest in peace, I guess, but I still want him back. And my mom. So many things I forgot to tell her. Almost picked up the phone yesterday, but remembered in time.

    • I am so sorry you lost your father but how awesome you had 72 years!!! I am so sorry you miss him so, I do understand. I hear it gets better in time 🙂

      • Thanks for your kindness.
        It took me much time to actualize the loss. I kept ignoring it.
        He was a sincere man and loved to crawl on the floor with us kids and play with us.
        I once disappointed him greatly but he forgave me.
        And it takes me longer to realize what I’ve lost.

        P.S. He lived to 72, but I did not know him until he was 20. 😉

Leave a Reply

