Stray Dog- Lilly

We have a stray dog living in our backyard. Granted she found me, I lead her to the backyard.

It’s cold outside today; a rainy, cool, southern December day. When I was married I had a dog that I named Lucy, I think I blogged about her forever ago. Any who, this stray reminds me of Lucy…I named my new buddy Lilly.

Lucy, the dog I had when I was married was my little lady. I loved her dearly. I let her go when I got divorced so the girls (my step-daughters) could keep her. It broke my heart. For months after I moved back home after the divorce I didn’t want much to do with dogs because I missed her dearly. This little Lilly, the stray, reminds me of my old girl Lucy. Lilly is only 7 or so pounds. She can’t be even a year and she looks very healthy!

Lilly has spent the last handful of days between mine and my neighbors front yards. She is a sweet little thing. We have a stray kitty living in the garage, the one my father took a liking to a month or so ago when he was home and living. He made her a a little home to sleep in at night. So, I went in the garage this morning and found a medium size plastic bin for Lilly to sleep in. It’s sturdy enough to protect her from the elements, she is also under a porch roof. I think she will be happy there. The bin is on it’s side, lined with clothing- insulated on the outside with a big thick flannel coat.

I am going out to run errands so I can’t forget to  pick up some dog food. I don’t know what my step-mom will say. Before she left for work this morning Lilly tried to plant herself in the garage with Missy, out stray cat. This is a good compromise..the backyard 🙂 Well, we shall see…

Dad- You always wanted a dog, they always gravitated towards you like they do me…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stray Dog- Lilly

  1. Thanks for following my blog. Cute tale.

  2. cherylz1961 says:

    I hope Lilly give you a lot of unconditional love. I have two dogs and the bless me every day.

    • Yes ma’am she did. I think she went to live with the neighbors, they keep her inside but I hope I get to see her. She gave me the love I needed, I hope I did the same. Thank you for your kind words and Support!

  3. Pen says:

    Dogs are wonderful creatures that always seek out to comfort the lost. I’m glad such a darling girl found you 🙂
    Warm thoughts and thank you for the follow!

    -Pen

  4. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be actually something that I think I would never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

