anxiety

I am finding the anxiety I feel is very circumstantial. What do I do when I feel it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to anxiety

  1. s1f2m3 says:

    One of the things I try to do is to take a deep breath and think, what’s the worst thing that could happen in this situation, to kind of mentally prepare myself. I also think how great I’m going to feel when the situation is over and sometimes plan a small way to reward myself for getting through it…hugs to you, anxiety is so difficult to live with whether it’s situational or daily…

    • I like that, i need to mentally prepare myself, thank you! And I love the reward idea, I have adopted it in some of my practices. Thank you for the hug, right back at ya! You made my night friend 🙂

  2. Send me an email at fumblingforlight@gmail.com. I think there’s a group you should meet, and should meet you. They helped save me when I most needed saving.

  3. disastress says:

    count backwards from 300 until you are exhausted. breath in and out very, very deeply, and say a simple phrase to yourself with each breath: “i’m okay” or “i am” or “this will pass” … anything. you are okay. you are. and it will pass. drink water, think of it as life as a the ultimate form of purity. pretend it is washing the worry/discomfort away; it is. pour out your coffee, caffeinated anything, or sugar right now. as a recovering alcoholic, you may find yourself craving sugar – don’t do it. get something sugar free, because sugar will key up anxiety. double edged swords everywhere. i consider myself a survivor of “anxiety” – just like alcoholism, it is something one has to learn to live with, because it never leaves, but can be managed. anxiety may be circumstantial, but that’s too hard to examine. it’s so .. tricky. it’s an unhealthy coping mechanism to avoid dealing with life. as painful as it is, it’s somehow easier than the other option; that’s what boggles my mind. now’s not the time to think, but to purify. cleanse it out. you’re safe. anxiety never goes past a certain point – though it may seem like you are approaching a cliff. there is no cliff, only the climb, and we never fall. trust in that. breath.

  4. robin claire says:

    Hi Leslie,
    I have non-circumstantial anxiety most of my life. It was with me day and night – 24/7. Circumstantial anxiety can be handled with words I think. Self talk. Non-circumstantial anxiety is wordless. It has no ties to anything around you. I wrote a post on this type of anxiety here:
    http://robinclaire.wordpress.com/2012/10/25/something-most-wont-understand/
    robin

  5. Do you mean that your anxiety is caused by certain circumstances? In truth (and I speak as someone whose husband wrestled with extreme anxiety almost two decades), nothing “causes” anxiety. Our minds create it internally, regardless of what’s really happening. The Sedona Method has helped both of us with many different kinds of anxiety (because even anxiety itself is just a label we put on sensations we feel). You can hear Hale Dwoskin talk about it briefly here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mFlc2zRL3dU

    • Awesome, thank you for the link and insight. I see that anxiety is a manifestation of fear. I am trying to become more aware. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and comment on it, you rock and your support is amazing!

    • panicpriest says:

      I think anyone who ever says that ‘nothing causes anxiety’ has never been the victim of abuse. While it’s true that the fundamental nature of anxiety comes from within and is an extremely necessary and important facet of human self-preservation via sympathetic neural function, things don’t go awry for no reason. There are triggers and causes behind any anxiety cycle being started, and it is clinically observed that those same triggers foster and nurture the perceived importance of the cycle staying in place. Saying that ‘nothing causes anxiety’ is basically the same as saying ‘it’s all in your head’ which is a pretty terrible thing (not to mention ableist) to hear for anyone dealing with the very real situation of anxiety. Although I treat my anxiety successfully via natural and ‘alternative’ methods, I can also see how surface coaching trends, MLM’s, and programs modeled off of actual CBT or ACT therapies like The Sedona Method just write this kind of stuff off.

      • Thank you for sharing your perspective and well informed comment with me…this really does help!

        You support is very important to me, than you panicpriest!

  6. What was life changing for me was to name it, acknowledge it instead of beating yourself up for it. My anxiety is “fred” I say to “fred” “I hear you, thank you for the warning but I’m in no immediate danger. I’m okay” It sounds nuts but it changed my life. I went from not being able to leave the house without intense panic to being able to leave often without a thought.

  7. katmcdaniel says:

    See if you can move… dance, do tai chi, whatever. Sometimes the anxiety comes from thought overload or getting stuck in a thought pattern. Distracting the brain by concentrating on moving gets the brain past the anxiety without shoving it mentally.
    Have you ever heard of the Feldenkrais Method? It is a method for training the brain to adapt and become more flexible through gentle movement. It has helped me tremendously with anxiety. I have a friend in Houston who does this kind of work, but you can find people all over. Here is her website: http://houstonfeldenkrais.com. Best wishes on your journey!
    Katherine

    • Hi Kat, I can say the anxiety I felt and the trickle of anxiety I feel at times now is from being stuck in my head.

      Thank you for the link, I will check the website out. Your support is amazing, thank you friend!

  8. cbraper45 says:

    I am willing and able today to “turn both my will and life over to the care of God as I understand Him.” To me this means I have to have a meaningful relationship with God and not just repeating some “cool recovery thing to say.” Thanks for writing. I write to help me (selfish with my recovery) and in doing so have been able to help others. I see you do the same. it is a blessing to me.

  9. Pam says:

    OOOO – Ms. Anxiety here just ducked out yet another flu shot … and I am equally frightened of the flu! I have anxiety generally and circumstantially. I suppose, then, it is always there and, further, certain things exacerbate the problem. Mindfulness meditation might be helpful – I recommend John Kabat-Zinn and you can check him out on you tube – but meditation is a benefit you reap over time – some weeks of practice. I was taught to talk myself through panic attacks, and that was helpful – I literally say: ah, hello racing heart and shortness of breath, I know you are symptoms of anxiety. It works to damp things down for me. If you can nip off to quiet space, even for a few breaths – that can help. Mindfulness can help you “nip out” even when you physically are stuck in a room. A nice warm cuppa – herbal tea or soup broth – is helpful – sip it. Something you can hold and fiddle with – I am on the autistic spectrum so tactile objects are soothing for me. I find being physically comfortable helps the mind. In class, I like to kick off my shoes. I choose the same seating position up front nearest a door. I recommend playing with your environment a bit, as though you had to accommodate a broken leg. The anxiety feels awful, but it is “only” anxiety – so then you can go about the business of making yourself comfortable in your environment as much as possible. If it comes up while you are stuck talking someone, you might say in your mind – darn, you anxiety! It is powerful to “talk back” to it. I am old enough and I guess I am cranky enough to just “out myself” at times – and I’ll just say, excuse me, I have some anxiety, just give me a sec. It is so common that most people don’t bat an eye – and if they do, well – I don’t think they go away and think about me all day. I’m no social genius, so what do I know ;0) – however, you are not alone – I suggest you just play around with it. Big talker, here, has an appointment at 4:30 for a flu shot … so, I will have my anxiety and reap the effects for a few days and hopefully not get the flu in the meantime – it ain’t a perfect system. I am going prepared with a fizzy drink and someone to talk me through. Silliness. But, we manage. Good luck with yours – I hear you!

  10. changes12 says:

    I have found that externalising my anxiety attacks helped. I even gave them a name. When ever I felt one coming on, I would tell myself and others I was about to be Rick Rolled. It made me laugh and helped take the pressure off.
    Sometimes, the best thing to do is to just breathe and accept that you are having another attack. Acknowledge that it is happening, talk yourself through all the processes your body is and is going to go through. This way, you will start to feel less anxious about the attacks themselves and will start to feel more confident in going out as well.
    All of these things have worked for me, I have a long way to go yet, but I have also come a long way. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you ever need advice. I have gone through it all!

    • Rick Rolled; what a clever way to catch yourself. Thank you changes12, it’s folks like you that help me realize I am not alone. You are amazing!

      • changes12 says:

        My apologies for not replying sooner! I have been off WP for a while lol.
        You are most certainly not alone and you are equally amazing. We all have our own ways of dealing with any issues that we have, but I believe it’s important not to stick to the “text book” methods. These don’t really work for everyone.
        Get creative when you thinking about what will work and what wont.
        Em.

  11. Terribly Sorry says:

    when I feel really anxious… or stressed… my heart physically hurts. it’s like i’m suffering a long drawn out heart attack… yet, it still passes. 🙂

  12. mylife1blog says:

    I find circumstantial anxiety is caused by fear. Is there something specific causing fear in that moment?

  13. jcmarckx2009 says:

    I was born with non-circumstantial anxiety that has been exacerbated in my adult years by circumstantial anxiety. I have seen therapists and taken drugs and done yoga, but usually when I am really feeling it, I just suck it up and keep going. I wish there was a better answer for me to give, but that’s it.

  14. I don’t have a suggestion, but I am so glad you asked the question, because I need to hear the answers, too! Thanks to everyone who responded, also.

  15. signedpenny says:

    Since I came across your blog,God has laid you on my heart to pray for you.I’m not sure I can do anything to help but listen and give you advice. But, I wanted you to know that you are more than welcome to write me at signedpenny@yahoo.com and I will do everything I can to encourage you in the name of the Lord during this rough time you are going through. I am very hopeful that all you need is hope, encouragement and someone to listen when you feel overwhelmed. I started suffering from panic attacks a few years ago and am writing a book about the silent fear they bring. I also have suffered from anxiety and have learned that a positive mindset is the key answer to healing, with God’s help of course. God Bless

  16. pnew5 says:

    Your recognition that it is circumstantial will free you from its grip and give you the power to change.

  17. Hi there, no expert as working on these issues myself but going for the meditation/mindful approach and trying to get more of a handle of noticing when my mind is running round in circles with anxious thoughts and worry.

    Think the idea is to be aware when you have anxious thoughts, accept it and aknowledge that they are just passing thoughts – neither resist or focus on them but let the thoughts drift on by.

    And dont judge yourself harshly for feeling anxious! doing that only built up my anxiety, very liberating to be kind to yourself.

  18. jlee5879 says:

    I do something nice for myself on hard days….usually it is a simple as going out for a coffee, but it is my way of giving myself a hug when I need it.

  19. parmis rad says:

    Hi! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for the follow. It put a big smile on my face 🙂 It is remarkable how much I identify with your story (the little bit of it I have read). I wish I had your courage to share openly … Maybe someday.
    With regard to this post, I use a few techniques to cope with my anxiety and worries. One of them is telling it to stop! It is called “thought stopping”, and a valid psychotherapy technique. I used to shout aloud but now I can do it quietly in my head. There are many useful techniques and workbooks out there if you google them which work so much better than pharmaceuticals in my humble opinion. Have a happy and creative day 🙂

  20. Feelings end. Ride that feeling of anxiety like you are surfing a huge wave. Ride it all the way to the beach and really experience that feeling and then the feeling of accomplishment you’ll receive as a reward when you make it through in one piece, and you will. I wish you the best and it gets better. Be well. Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

