My Mom and My Brother

My brother told my mother that her last husband (of whom she is still with but divorced to) raped him. My mother is in a manic phase and I am worried about what she may do to herself. I am not sure if she would take her own life; she still and has always seen herself as a victim. I will say I was impressed with her compassion when she asked him what she could to do help him. He told her he has moved pasted it, gone to therapy and worked through it.

I called my brother to let him know mom had been asking me why we hate our ex-stepfather…I told her she needed to talk to my brother. He finally told her today after years; he kept it from her for the sake of her sanity….so now we wait.

A positive thing that has happened to me since I wrote was I received my two year chip and finished one of my classes early with an A 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Mom and My Brother

  1. Congratulations to you for your 2 year chip… I am however so sorry that now there is another issue going on… Perhaps your mother will be strong after learning the truth…and will confront your ex-stepfather…. Mother instincts I think have a strength of their own…learning of her son’s secret he has kept….Diane

  2. mmAshtha says:

    What did you mean by “of whom she is still with but divorced to”??
    Congrats on the 2 year chip, and I hope your mom comes out of this okay. It’s great to know your brother was able to tell her and has been able to move on.

    • Thank you mmA. Things seem to be okay so far, thank you for your support!

      What I mean by, “of whom she is still with but divorced to.” Is, my mother lives in a different state than him. They still talk every day and make trips to see each other and their plan is for him to move in a year to be with her.

      Thank you for asking!

  3. cshowers says:

    Congratulations on your 2 year chip (not sure what that is, but it sounds like a big accomplishment)! I will continue to pray for you and your family. You sound much stronger now, and for that I am happy. I pray the Lord will continue to bless you and strengthen you.

    Love,
    Cheryl

  4. amylong1933 says:

    You are incredibly brave for speaking on this. I found the courage one time to tell someone close to me and they did not believe me. They also told me they would kill me if I told my mother, although my circumstances are different, I was four years old, my memories are still fragmented and the man has been dead and buried for years. I am finally in therapy at 36 years old. Everybody idolized this man, and I am a recovering heroin junkie, they would never believe me anyway and he is dead and gone so why destroy their image of him and bring them into something that happened 30 years ago. It is my journey and I must confront these demons on my own. I too have moved on, my mind has buried it for defense reasons I guess, my therapy is more Schema Focused. It is more about the themes in my life and dealing with the trauma that caused those themes. This is the first time in my life I am able to function not only clean, but happy. I have work to do, there is no doubt about that but at least I am free now. Thank you for your post, trust and believe their are others who read it and suffer in silence but today have hope after hearing your story and mine. That is why we must continue to write and speak out on these issues, to give strength and hope to those who still suffer. Two years of not using I assume? Well done, remember it is not about how much time we collect but how we are living are life today, it is about change, master that and you can accomplish anything.

    • Wow, thank you so much. This was a much needed read tonight. I appreciate your support and for the trust you have in sharing your story; sad and beautiful.

      • amylong1933 says:

        Thank you! I’m glad I could help, I try to keep it real and stay true and honest. I’m glad it helps people but really it’s my therapeutic way of treating my addiction and living by example.

Leave a Reply

