Charles

I keep thinking about my father and who he was. As the medication helps me think clearer my flashbacks feel rapid.

There was a man named Charles that I met in AA. He seemed like a good man; came to the house to help us with handy man things. My father had been talking about selling a red bronco and that he was going to sell it to his friend Charles. Charles came over one day and we did a bill of sale for the car, that he said his son earned $500 for the bill of sale. The car needed work but was sold under it’s value. Charles was seen a few times after that but I have not seen him in a year and a half. As my meds work, I remember that I said to Charles that he looked like a sketch of someone I saw in the post office. He laughed and said something about how they all look alike. My father and he remained friends until he died. I thought nothing of it but now I think I should have reported it. My father said he knew Charles for 5 years and that they were AA buddies. As I look back and see my father for who he was, I see something more could have been going on. In the violation I have felt in life I am breaking everything down so much it keeps my attention. I need to let this go. I have learned to trust my instincts more.

God, help me apply this lesson and let go of the fact that I was completely fooled by my flesh and blood. My heart hurts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Charles

  1. It is strange how our mind does all of a sudden go back… probably because you really felt something was strange about Charles and it stayed in the recesses of your mind …. likely just thinking about your father… Diane

Leave a Reply

